A. ESTABLISHMENT OF QUORUM AND ROLL CALL

The regular teleconference meeting of the Board of Agriculture & Conservation (BAC) was held December 11, 2015 at the Division of Agriculture conference room, 1800 Glenn Highway, St.12, Palmer, Alaska. Chair Ben VanderWeele called the meeting to order at 1:00 p.m.

Board members present and establishing a quorum were:

Mr. Ben VanderWeele, Chair

Mr. John Schirack, Vice Chair

Mr. Chris Flickinger, Board member (telephone)

Ms. Deidre Berberich, Board member

Mr. Troy Shelden, Board member (telephone)

Ms. Roxy Marcy, Board member (telephone)

Staff in attendance was:

Mr. Ed Fogels, Deputy Commissioner, DNR (telephone)

Ms. Elizabeth Bluemink, Special Assistant, DNR (telephone)

Mr. Rob Carter, Acting Director, Agronomist III

Ms. Lora Haralson, Administrative Officer I

Mr. Robert McFarlane, AAG, Dept. of Law (telephone)

Ms. Amanda Swanson, ARLF Loan Officer

Public in attendance were: Kim Allen (telephone) Zaz Hollander (telephone)

B. APPROVAL OF AGENDA

No objections were received. The agenda was approved.

C. PUBLIC COMMENTS/SESSION

No public comments were made.

D. MINUTES OF PRECEDING MEETINGS

December 4, 2015 Draft Meeting Minutes

MOTION: Board member Flickinger moved to approve the minutes of December 4, 2015.

SECOND Vice Chair Schirack seconded the motion.

VOTE: The motion passed without objection.

E. CONFLICT OF INTEREST DISCLOSURES

Chair VanderWeele stated now is the time for conflict disclosures. You have the agenda outlining pending business and we will be going into executive session later to address loan requests. Does any member have a conflict to disclose relating to any business before the board? *(No disclosures were stated).*

MOTION: Board member Berberich moved to go into Executive Session.

SECOND: Board member Marcy seconded the motion.

VOTE: The motion passed without objection.

F. EXECUTIVE SESSION

The Executive Session for the Director's position discussion included Chair Ben VanderWeele, Vice Chair John Schirack, Board member Chris Flickinger (telephone), Board member Troy Shelden (telephone), Board member Deidre Berberich, Board member Roxy Marcy (telephone), DNR Deputy Commissioner Ed Fogels (telephone), DNR Special Assistant Elizabeth Bluemink (telephone) and Administrative Officer Lora Haralson.

PUBLIC SESSION

Chair VanderWeele stated that the following five candidates will be interviewed on January 7, 2016 beginning at 9:00 a.m. in no particular order:

Matthew Gibson Arthur Keyes Lucas Knowles Joshua Scott Steven Seefeldt

G. NEW/OLD BUSINESS

(There was no new/old business).

H. BOARD MEMBER COMMENTS

(There were no board member comments made).

I. SET NEXT MEETING & AGENDA ITEMS:

The next meeting will be held on Thursday, January 7, 2016 at 9:00 a.m.

J. ADJOURNMENT: The meeting was adjourned at 1:45 p.m.