KRSMA Board Action Item: Resolution 2008-02

Committee Purposes & Objectives: KRSMA Board 2008

At our KRSMA Board Meeting of December 13, 2007, the Board agreed on Objectives for the Committees of the Board. These Objectives provide direction regarding the types of issues for which each Committees will be responsible. According to the By-Laws, "1. Purposes" there are 20 purposes for the KRSMA Board. I would like to have each Committee determine, with the approval of the Board, which of the 20 Purposes will be dealt with by their Committee. There may be over-lapping purposes with more than one Committee having responsibility for some area of the same Purpose.

Committees:

1. Agenda/Board Structure/Housekeeping

Co-Chairs: Dave Carey & Ted Wellman

Board Members: Jim Czarneski, Dave C., Ted W.

Non-Voting Board/Staff Members: Jack Sinclair, Pam Russell

Non Voting Public Members:

Objective:

To be responsible for the development of Board agendas, Board structure for development of Action Items/Resolutions, Committee memberships, and other housekeeping functions related to the Board duties. This Committee will, if necessary, act as an Executive Committee for the Board, in emergencies, and will bring items to the Board when such items should be dealt with as a Committee of the Whole by the entire Board. The Executive Committee will consist of the two Board Officers, The members of the ABH Committee and the Chair(s) of the other Board Committees.

Purposes:

- "1. To advise the Governor of the State of Alaska and the Commissioner of the Department of Natural Resources on issues relating to the Kenai River watershed other than matters related to fisheries allocation."
- "2. To update the Kenai River Management Plan and monitor implementation of the new Plan."
- "3. (14) To inquire into matters of public interest relating to the KRSMA to bring matters of interest to the public; to appear and testify at public hearings as representatives of the Board."

2. Permits

Chair: Jim Czarneski, Vice Chair: Pam Russell Board Members: Dick Dykema, Brenda Trefon, Jim C.

Non-Voting Board/Staff Members: Pam Russell

Non-Voting Public Members:

Objective:

To interact with local Government more closely on Kenai River affected Land issues.

Purposes:

3. Legislative/Government Activities

Chair: Gary Knopp Vice Chair:

Board Members: Rich Koch, Ted Wellman, Curt Shuey, Gary K. Non-Voting Board/Staff Members: Jack Sinclair, Jeni Evans

Non-Voting Public Members:

Objective:

To support River Assessment Studies that assess the effectiveness of current management strategies. Work more closely with Board of Fish on KRSMA-related issues. (This will be re-worded by Ted W. for the Feb Board Meeting)

Purposes:

4. River Use

Chair: George Heim, Vice Chair:

Board Members: Joe Connors, George H., Dick Hahn

Non-Voting Board/Staff Members: Robin West

Non-Voting Public Members:

Objective:

To pursue more extensive and intensive River User Education Programs.

Purposes:

5. Habitat

Chair: Brenda Trefon, Vice Chair: Dick Hahn

Board Members: Bruce King, Jim Czarneski, Brenda T., Dick H. Non-Voting Board/Staff Members: Tim Stevens, Robert Begich

Non-Voting Public Members:

Objective:

To identify High Value Habitat Lands and work to protect and/or acquire them through various means. Support extended and continued water quality testing. Create "Bank Protection Zones" and address both shoreline uses and boater behavior.

Purposes:

6. Recreational Use

Chair: Ted Wellman Vice Chair: Bruce King

Board Members: Joe Connors, George Heim, Ted W., Bruce K.

Non-Voting Board/Staff Members: Jeni Evans, Robin West, Jack Sinclair

Non-Voting Public Members:

Objective:

To support and conduct a valid and defensible Recreation Use Study. To investigate, research and institute a River User Fee for habitat protection and facility maintenance. To support more enforcement resources that are consistent and assertive.

Purposes:

7. Board Development

Chair: Curt Shuey Vice Chair:

Board Members: Joe Connors, Jim Czarneski, Dave Carey, Curt S.

Non-Voting Board/Staff Members: Jack Sinclair

Non-Voting Public Members:

Objective:

To assist with Board nominations.

Purposes:

(Memo #4 01/30/08 The following were recommended by the Board Development Committee at their meeting of January 30, 2008; By-Laws: 3, 6, 7, 12, 14, 18).

8. **Guide Advisory**

Chair: Joe Connors Vice Chair:

Board Members: George Heim, Joe C., Ted Wellman

Non-Voting Board/Staff Members: Robert Begich, Jack Sinclair

Non-Voting Public Members:

Objective:

Purpose:

(We need to include all structure provided from previous year's for Guide Advisory Committee such as that of a Tribunal.)

Be it resolved that,